Reader Response Blog: Madeline

Part One

  1. Bemelmans, L. (1967). Madeline (New Viking ed.). New York: Viking Press.
  2. Grades: Kindergarten- Second Grade

Genre: Rhyming, Fictional Picture Book

Part Two

This book was so adorable. I loved how the author rhymed and the pictures were so big yet so simple. I think this book can have several meanings to it like: be different, or be grateful for your health, or even be fearless. All these different meaning pertain to my life every single day. In the book Madeline is very different from everyone else because she does what she wants and does not fear what is in front of her, (She growled at a tiger.) which is something I tell my niece every time I see her. It’s okay to be different then everyone else and she should not be afraid of anyone. At the end, I found it funny how all the little girls were crying that they wanted their appendix taken out but Miss Clavel told them to thank the lord they are well. This made me laugh because it reminded me of when I cried to my mom that I wanted a cast on my arm like my brother. She told me the same thing Miss Clavel said and now that I ‘m older well, I’m very happy I haven’t broken a bone.

Part Three

The setting of the book took place in the town of Paris, the home in which the little girls and Miss Clavel stayed, the hospital, and the room in which the girls slept in. The story is told through third person point of view because the book says things like, “Little Madeline sat in bed” and “Miss Clavel turned on the light.” The plot of the book happened when Madeline was rushed to the hospital for her appendix.

Part Four

Objective: Students will be able to create a poem using rhyming words.

Questions:

  1. How many little girls lived in the house?
  2. What are some things that made the girls frown?
  3. What was the biggest surprise by far that Madeline had?

Activity: The students will need to create a poem about their home using rhyming words.

Additional Resources:

http://homeschoolinadventures.blogspot.com/2013/07/fiar-madeline-unit.html

http://www.brighthubeducation.com/lesson-plans-grades-1-2/98771-second-grade-madeline-activities/

http://www.ehow.com/info_8469884_madeline-book-activities.html

Madeline-1939

Leave a Reply

