Screencasting

Until I began this class, I actually did not know anything about screencasting. Now, I am a Liberal Studies major and I have a feeling I will need to use this tool in the future so I am actually very happy that I am learning about how to use this program now. After watching the video on how to create a screencasting video, I realized that although I have not made a video using screencast, my professors here have and I loved it!

Last year, I was taking college algebra and since the majority of the class was online, my professor needed to upload a lot of videos on how to do certain problems. Well, I always thought the software he used was cool because his videos were easy to watch, and until I saw this tutorial I realized he was using screencast. This brings me to my first beneficial, educational use for screencasting: math videos. Screencasting is a GREAT way for teachers to make videos that re-explain the lesson, and show examples of how to solve math problems. When I didn’t understand a lesson in class, I wasn’t worried that I did not understand it because I knew he was going to have a video online further explaining the lesson. There were several times where I would re-watch certain parts, or pause the video to solve my problem step-by-step and it really helped me understand the material at my own pace. Screencasting is a great tool to use when teaching math because it can allow students to re-watch the lessons and learn math at their own pace.

Now, it is obvious that screencasting is a great tool for math but what about other projects? Well, according to Nancy Rubin, a blogger I recently discovered, screencasting can be used to teach other subjects as well as stated in the article, What can you use Screencasting for in the classroom? What I liked about her post was she gave specific examples of where one can use screencasting besides in math. For example, in Social Studies, students can create virtual tours pertaining to the history period they are learning about. Or, in science, students can create a step-by-step video pertaining to how to give the electronic configuration for elements or the break down of a cell. My point with these examples are, just like the examples, the possibilities you can use screencast for are endless.

To be honest, before researching more online about screencasting videos, I was a little against it only because my mentality was, “Students won’t pay attention in class if they know the lesson is online.”(It may be a bit silly I know) But after looking more into the benefits of screencast, I came across another website that sums up everything and anything about screencast called CENTRE FOR TEACHING EXCELLENCE: Screencasts. Now although the website talks about tips for a better screencast and what you should put in a video, what I really liked reading (and ultimately changed my opinion to the better of screencasts) was the benefits of screencast. I really didn’t know how screencasts could benefit a younger crowd of students but after reading the website, I realized screencasts could benefit younger students whose first language was not English. By allowing them access to these videos it allows them to view the video on any lesson several times and visually see and hear the lesson, which in return only benefits their English. Also, screencasts allow the teacher to post about material that was not covered in class due to time. Overall, screencast is a GREAT tool for the classroom and I will most definitely be making videos for my students to see. Since I will be making my first one, I looked up tips on how to make a great screencast video and came upon this guy. I thought you all would enjoy watching his goofy tips.  

2 thoughts on “Screencasting

  1. I too, like how you can re-watch certain parts of a video or have the ability to pause and rewind the video so that I can hear what I have to do to solve the problem I was encountering. If only there was a pause and rewind button for professors in class so that I would have enough time to jot down the notes into my notepad.

    I think screen casting is a great tool that is useful for many different subjects that are taught in our classrooms today. It’s great how now with these videos, students can learn at their own pace as well as be properly assisted/instructed on what they need to do and how to do it.

    One other point another student brought up on their post is that screen casting can act as a sort of communicative tool between teacher and student. I think that is great because I’ve been in a similar situation where I had to physically bring my laptop to class so that the professor could see exactly what I was doing wrong so that it could be corrected. By the way, those tips were great, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I enjoy how you explained your previous experience with screencasting. I also enjoy how you talked about how screencasting can be used in other subjects, instead of just math. I personally have mainly experienced screencasts in my math classes and never really realized that they could be so helpful in other areas. Another subject you brought up that I though was great was how helpful screencast are to students who may not speak the language and may need to review the screencast multiple times to fully understand the lesson.

    Like

Leave a Reply

