About Me

This is me when I came to Spotlight Weekend almost two years ago.
This is me when I came to Spotlight Weekend almost two years ago.

Hello everyone, my name is Kassandra Rodriguez but I go by Kassy. I am 19 years old, am from San Diego, and am the first in family to go to college. Some quick facts about me are: I am Mexican and Puerto Rican, have 3 brothers, am terrified of scary movies, love roller coasters, am apart of the sorority Phi Sigma Sigma, love Pinterest, and am a huge hopeless romantic. I don’t know why but I really am obsessed with the concept of love; some of my favorite movies are The Fault on Our Stars, Dear John, and The Notebook.

These are my beautiful sisters at a cowboy event we had last semester.
These are my beautiful sisters at a cowboy event we had last semester.

In high school, most people are apart of sport teams but I (being the clumsy person I am with horrible hand-eye coordination) decided to do dance all four years. I was apart of the Ballet Folklorico dance team. For those of you who don’t know what Ballet Folklorico is, it is the Mexican dancing with the big, colorful skirts. Although I only did that type of dancing, I absolutely love to dance to anything! I’m that girl that as soon as she hears music, I’m dancing! Oh, but if I’m not dancing I am most definitely eating. I love trying new food and am always up for trying new restaurants, so if any of you know of good places, please let me know! Speaking of food, I actually work in the food industry. I work at Sabor A Mi Mexican restaurant (on D street near school), and House Of Wings Restaurant (also on D Street).

This was my Ballet Folklorico dance team.
This was my Ballet Folklorico dance team.

I am majoring in Liberal Studies because I absolutely adore children and to me, education is everything. As I said earlier, I am the first in my family to go to college so I see education as my ticket to a better life. Unfortunately, my parents did not have the opportunity to pursue higher  education, so I am not only getting my degree for myself but for my family as well. I eventually want to get my Master’s in counseling and pursue a career as a high school counselor. That’s another fact about me is I love to listen to people so might as well get paid to do it right?
Personally I am not really a big fan go technology use in the classroom so I hope to learn new things in this class and incorporate what i learn into my classroom.  I hope you enjoyed reading a bit about me and wish you all luck in the class and the upcoming Spring semester!

This is me and my not so baby brother.
This is me and my not so baby brother.
One thought on “About Me

  1. Welcome to 407, Kassy! It’s good to be working with you again. I appreciate your dedication to your education on behalf of yourself and your family. What an inspiration you are! I’m looking forward to reading more of your thoughts and reflections throughout the class. I think you’ll learn a lot! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

